Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Government Of Macron Respects Political Diversity And Parity Between Men And Women

The new president of France, Emmanuel Macron, and his prime minister, Édouard Philippe, revealed on Wednesday (17) a government team made up of representatives of different parties, including socialists, centrists, and conservatives. The parity between men and women, one of the promises of the campaign of the head of state, was also respected.

The new president, who campaigned on the theme of political renewal, chose a team of 18 ministers. On the list are seven socialists, three centrists, and two conservatives.

Former Socialist Defense Minister François Hollande, Jean-Yves Le Drian will occupy the Foreign Affairs portfolio, while Bruno Le Maire, of the right-wing party The Republicans, will be the Minister of Economy. Nicolas Hulot, a former television host and respected figure for his environmental advocacy, will lead the ministry of Transport and Ecology. European centrist Sylvie Goulard, relatively unknown in France, has been named Minister of Defense.

Macron also fulfilled the promise of integrating into his government personalities from civil society. Frédérique Vidal, the former president of the University of Nice, in the higher education, research, and innovation portfolio, Françoise Nyssen, who headed the Actes-Sud publishing house, which he assumes as Minister of Culture, Fencer Laura Flessel, five times Olympic medalist and six times world champion, in the Ministry of Sports.

The first team of Édouard Philippe also gave space to the centrists, with the veteran François Bayrou, that returns to the government for the first time since 1997, and assumes the ministry of Justice. Marielle de Sarnez, who also belonged to the party of Bayrou, the Democratic Movement, was named Minister of the European Relations.

Macron should have announced the formation of the government on Tuesday 16th but postponed the disclosure in 24 hours to see if all the potential members of his cabinet were suitable people. The fiscal situation of each of the team members, as well as the existence of potential conflicts of interest, have been thoroughly checked.

See the complete list of the new French government: 

- Minister for Agriculture and Food: Jacques Mézard

- Minister for Territorial Cohesion: Richard Ferrand

- Minister of Culture: Françoise Nyssen

- Minister of Economy: Bruno Le Maire

- Minister of Education: Jean-Michel Blanquer

- Minister of Higher Education, Research, and Innovation: Frédérique Vidal

- Minister of Sport: Laura Flessel

- Minister of Public Accounts: Gérald Darmanin

- Minister of the Armed Forces: Sylvie Goulard

- Minister of Justice: François Bayrou

- Minister of the Interior: Gérard Collomb

- Minister of Foreign Affairs: Jean-Yves Le Drian

- Minister for Health and Solidarity: Agnès Buzyn

- Minister of Transport and Ecology: Nicolas Hulot

- Minister for European Relations: Marielle de Sarnez

- Minister for Overseas Territories: Annick Girardin

- Minister of Labor: Muriel Pénicaud

- Minister of Transport: Elisabeth Borne

No comments: